Book Reviews

Unhinged (Underworld #1) Review

 

Title: Unhinged (Underworld #1)

Author: Chani Lynn Feener

Published: December 25, 2016 by The Polyethnic (first published April 6th 2013)

Genre: Fantasy-Mythology, Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance

Reading Period: November 25-28, 2016

Rating: ★★★★☆

Synopsis:

The Underworld is real.

Spencer Perry knew it was a long shot when she started searching for a way into the Underworld, the ancient Greeks resting place for the dead. But three months ago her boyfriend died and now she’ll do anything to get him back, even make a deal with the devil himself. Only, Hades isn’t what she expected, and neither is the proposal he offers. In exchange for Micah’s resurrection, all she has to do is spend every night for the next year down below. From the very first meeting the god makes her feel things she shouldn’t, but she takes the deal anyway, knowing in the end it’ll be worth it. Except, as soon as their bargain begins, strange things start happening. People are being attacked by invisible forces, and all signs point to the God of the Underworld being responsible. Has Spencer inadvertently unleashed hell on earth?

Review:

“Life is too short to regret the things we didn’t do, that we weren’t capable of doing”

I received a free eBook copy from the author in-exchange for an honest review under YA Buddy Readers’ Corner❤️

This is my first time to join read-to-review and give honest review. I am hoping that I’ll give justice onto this. All of the opinions and comments below are my feelings while reading.

Before reading, I was excited when I read the synopsis. I actually had a high expectations with this book. But while reading, I almost lost my interest and that’s the reason why I was slow in reading. I am giving 4.5 star for this book. Greek Mythology fascinates me and it excites me that Unhinged is a retelling Greek Myth.

I have some petty issues:

First, how come the Ferryman and Hadrian the ruler of Underworld are both young? I need an explanation for this! Haha. Is it because of their power? Can they change their selves into young-looking and pretty guy (not to mention according to Spencer HOTTEST guy she’d ever seen).

Second, I feel sorry for Micah. I feel like he was left out. Though he first left Spencer to spend time with her father but still it felt like they left Micah. I’m actually rooting for Hadrian (because I think he is one those boyfriend book material). It was actually good that Spencer keeps on reminding herself about Micah because that proves that she still love him, but that also proves that she doesn’t want to entertain her feelings for Hadrian.

Lastly, I really didn’t see it coming that Persephone will show up. Wow, and she’s the evil one, not Thayer. It’s actually not an issue because it made me drawn to read and finish the book. It excites me. But it was on the latter part when she showed up.

Moreover, I love Hadrian’s character. How he treats Spencer and how he argues makes his character look stronger (I’m actually enjoys it every time they argue). And I like Spencer too, although she needs a button to realize things around her, still, I like her character.

If given a chance to read the other books of Chani Lynn Feener, it would definitely my pleasure. And I would like to congratulate Ms. Feener for this wonderful novel.

Buy Links:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Leave a Reply

