Book Reviews

Up For Grabs Review

 

Title: Up For Grabs (Up For Grabs #1)

Author: Heather Young-Nichols

Published: August 2016

Format: eBook

Genre: Romance, Contemporary, New Adult

Reading Period: January 15-17, 2017

Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Synopsis:

Flannery Tate left home for a college half a country away. She just wants an education. Something that will give her opportunities and lead to a life unlike the one she grew up in.

Then she meets Cain Dorsey and the education she gets is so much more.

Living her new life, one she never dreamed of, Flannery gets gobsmacked when she receives notification that the scholarship she’d worked years for in high school, has disappeared. Without the money she’ll have to leave school and return home. It’s hopeless.

Until Flannery gets creative.

With the help of a friend, Flannery decides that selling her virginity to the highest bidder is the only option. When Cain discovers the plan his feelings of betrayal drive the lovers apart. She wants to stay in Michigan even if seeing Cain around campus with another woman would crush her but if she can convince him that she’s worth all the trouble more than just her virginity will be Up for Grabs.

Review:

I received a digital copy of this book under New Adult Book Club in RIRI.

“I’m Flannery Tate, resident strumpet and overall painted woman.”

I got excited when I read the synopsis. I like Flannery’s humor. She has a quick wit and I definitely like her personality. What I don’t like about her is her being irrational at some point.

I don’t know if it just me but the story was very slow but not until maybe after Chapter 17 that it became exciting. I somewhat dragged myself to finish this because I can’t find the first chapters exciting.

I don’t understand why Flannery can’t just accept any help from her mother? Why can’t she even look for a job that can help her pay for her tuition fees and dormitory rent? And she’s considering of selling her virginity for twenty thousand? That’s absorbed! She and Kendra even thought that that’s “the solution”? I can’t understand her reasoning. Certainly there are other ways to support her financially.

Cain was a sweet guy. He’s head-over-heels in love with Flannery. I like how he come up with the idea of giving Flannery other options.

Overall, I’m giving this 2.5 stars. I did only enjoy this book when the problem showed up.

Leave a Reply

