Book Reviews

Olmec Obituary (Dr. Pimms, Intermillennial Sleuth #1) Review

 

Title: Olmec Obituary (Dr. Pimms, Intermillennial Sleuth #1)

Author: L.J.M. Owen

Published: August 1, 2016 by Echo Publishing

Genre: Fiction, History, Mystery & Thriller, Crime, Cultural, Archaeology, New Adult

Reading Period: January 19, 2017

Rating: ★★★★☆

Synopsis:

Yearning for her former life as an archaeologist, Australian librarian Dr Elizabeth Pimms is struggling with a job she doesn’t want and a family she both loves and resents.

A royal Olmec cemetery is discovered deep in the Mexican jungle, containing the earliest writing in all the Americas. Dr Pimms is elated to join the team investigating the ancient skeletons found on site. Triumph is short-lived, however, as Elizabeth’s position is threatened by a volatile excavation director, contradictory evidence, and hostile colleagues. With everything working against her, will Dr Pimms find the cause of death for a 3,000-year-old athlete and those buried with her?

With the archaeological intrigue of Elizabeth Peters, forensic insight of Kathy Reichs, and the comfort of a cosy mystery, Olmec Obituary is the first novel in a fascinating new series: Dr Pimms, Intermillennial Sleuth. Really cold cases.

Review:

Thank you NetGalley and Echo Publishing for a free digital copy of this book.

While reading, this books makes me ask questions like the questions that Elizabeth had in mind. My curiosity didn’t stop there to the point that I searched about the Olmec online. I like this book because it gives me new information, learning and understanding about anthropology, history, sociology, some part in biology. Further, the most that strikes my interest was philology. I’m very much interested with that now. I like reading books that I benefit at the end, I mean that I learn new things or about some part of the world. It’s well-written and page-turner book.

I know my friends and fellow readers will enjoy this, especially those who like adventure kind of readings.

Leave a Reply

