Book Reviews

The Perfect Stranger Review

31443398

Title: The Perfect Stranger

Author: Megan Miranda

Format: Digital ARC

Published: April 11, 2017 by Simon & Schuster

Genre: Mystery, Fiction, Thriller, Suspense, Psychological 

Reading Period: March 7-10, 2017

Rating: ★★★★☆

Synopsis:

In the masterful follow-up to the runaway hit All the Missing Girls, a journalist sets out to find a missing friend, a friend who may never have existed at all.

Confronted by a restraining order and the threat of a lawsuit, failed journalist Leah Stevens needs to get out of Boston when she runs into an old friend, Emmy Grey, who has just left a troubled relationship. Emmy proposes they move to rural Pennsylvania, where Leah can get a teaching position and both women can start again. But their new start is threatened when a woman with an eerie resemblance to Leah is assaulted by the lake, and Emmy disappears days later.

Determined to find Emmy, Leah cooperates with Kyle Donovan, a handsome young police officer on the case. As they investigate her friend’s life for clues, Leah begins to wonder: did she ever really know Emmy at all? With no friends, family, or a digital footprint, the police begin to suspect that there is no Emmy Grey. Soon Leah’s credibility is at stake, and she is forced to revisit her past: the article that ruined her career. To save herself, Leah must uncover the truth about Emmy Grey—and along the way, confront her old demons, find out who she can really trust, and clear her own name.

Everyone in this rural Pennsylvanian town has something to hide—including Leah herself. How do you uncover the truth when you are busy hiding your own?

Review:

Thank you Netgalley and Simon & Schuster for a free digital copy of this book and for approving my request to read and give my honest review.

I have not read All the Girls Missing yet this book is very interesting. The synopsis caught my attention and I was very eager to read it. Unfortunately, because of so many books lined up in my list, I regret not to read this one first.

As much as I’d like to quote something from this book, I’m not allowed to do that as it’s part of the publisher’s policy.

Anyway, I think there is something about Leah. No one remembers and knows about Emily. It’s like she doesn’t exist at all.

Leah has “journalist instinct” if that’s exist or if there’s such a thing. But sometimes she’s using it in a wrong way. The story is exciting as I was very curious with what happened to Emmy. If there is really an Emmy or maybe Leah is just making an Emmy because she thought that Emmy is her other personality.

Does Leah needs someone to confide? Is she really that alone and lonely that Kyle thought she needs someone to talk to and don’e believe Leah about Emmy. Well, I guess he needs to assess every angle even Leah to make sure that she doesn’t hide anything especially things about someone stalking her. But, does Emmy Grey really exist?

Moreover, while reading (especially in the middle part) it had me thinking and come up with these questions: Who’s responsible for Bethany’s incident? Is it really David or someone just using his name? Who is the suspect? How is Bethany’s incident related to Emmy’s disappearance? Maybe Jim is responsible for Emmy’s disappearance? But, why Jim was killed? How is Theo releted to Bethany? And the most important question in my mind is why is it happening to Leah?

After knowing who’s stalking Leah my reaction is: No effin’ way!!!! Is it really Theo? Is he really stalking Leah?! This twist makes me scream and lose my mind!!! I didn’t see that coming. I thought that he’s just giving clues and signs to Leah! NO WAY!!!

I honestly don’t know what to feel about the ending. I have mixed emotions. Part of me wants to know how they will capture Emmy or Melissa. But also part of me wants to leave it that way.

This psychological, mystery & thriller novel made me question many things. It made me feels things like hate. I hate that I’m scared to know what will happen next. Hate that Leah has been ignorant to the most important details. This is honestly what I feel while I’m reading. Also with the twists in the story, I feel nervous, terrified and excited. I wonder how All the Girls Missing goes that I would like to read it too as I enjoyed reading this one.

The novel is well written thought there are times that I couldn’t keep up when Leah’s having a flashback that made me confuse. But that’s also the uniqueness of this book, how it was written. I would like commend Ms. Megan Miranda for this amazing story.

Buy link: Amazon

Add to Goodreads

Leave a Reply

