Book Reviews

Geekerella Review

30201136

Title: Geekerella

Author: Ashley Poston

Format: Digital ARC

Published: April 4, 2017 by Quirk Books

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Retelling

Reading Period: March 25-27, 2017

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis:

Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise. But when she disappears at midnight, will he ever be able to find her again?

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom.

Review:

“When I was younger, I never fit in anywhere. I always felt like that puzzle piece no one knew where to fit it.”

Thank you NetGalley and Quirk Books for a free digital copy.

My reviews are influence of my experience. I don’t know if I’m violating any rules in book blogging but I’d like to share my experience as a fan as well.

Anyway, the story is in two POVs, Elle and Darien. Plus it’s a Cinderella retelling! 
Danielle or Elle, is a geek. She dreams that one day her ticket to a new life is her talent in writing and she can leave behind her stepmother and stepsisters. Aside from “assisting” the needs of her stepmom, Catherine, and the twins (Chloe and Calliope/Cal), she keeps herself busy working in a food truck, and writing on her blog. She’s a Starfield fan and loves to write in her blog about it.
Darien Freeman is a teen actor. He’s popular. He’s beautiful and talented actor. He’s traumatized because of his so-called best-friend that sold and leak pictures to the media.
At first, I don’t understand why Elle hates or if not, doesn’t like or approves Darien as Carmindor. Is it because of the twins? Maybe. But later I understand it. And I know how it feels when you expect something big but then you feel like you lose every thing and felt disappointed that your bias/idol or what you’ve pictured didn’t happen! And it kind of tainted the character you’re imagining. Then, when you’re a fanatic of something and them some unwelcome fans crushed your world! That’s unforgivable.
I’m always a fan and I totally can relate to Elle. The feeling that you’re alone in this world but you found comfort with your online friends. Fans are very passionate. We cannot judge them because they care and love unconditionally someone or something. Some interpret their idols as their inspiration and started to view life in different perspective. 
Also, it’s funny how Elle and Darien know or meet each other. Thru text! They are the stranger to each other. They are adorable! They can be their selves without revealing their names. They can be Starfield fan all they want.
Darien is having his fanboy time and I didn’t see that coming. That is wonderful because I get to know more of how a guy fanboy. This is one part that I like in this book.
Further, those moment when Darien keep on checking his phone and keep on waiting for Elle’s message, I know how it feels! The excitement and butterfly in the stomach every time they message you. Classic. Also, the thought of liking or loving someone you don’t personally know, it also added the excitement. But that’s not permanent. It’ll pass. The growing feelings, the excitement, the butterfly in your stomach. But unless, the other person makes an effort to make things real deal. That is real and permanent.
Chloe’s the evil sister here and she’s a bitch. I don’t like her! She seeks attention and live in the world of the internet. She lives in expection of her world. However, Cal is the kind one. I was surprise with her gender preference here. And, oh! Catherine, their mother, Elle’s stepmother! She nailed it! She totally nailed it. I also love Sage! She’s the fairy godmother along with the other cosplayer!
These are my reactions while reading: OMG!! What will happen if they meet in person?!?!? What will happen if Darien tell Elle the truth?!?!? Oh gosh!!! Just the thought of it is… That’s heartbreaking for sure!!! I died when they met! They argue yet they didn’t know each other. I died. Heartbreaking!!! I’m screaming!!! I know why! I know! But I can’t accept the fact that he ended it. Even deletes Elle’s number! My heart. Oh my heart!
I like this book! One of the diverse books I’ve read. It was great to include characters that are part of the LGBT.
Wonderful read with fantastic characters! I would like to commend Ms. Ashley Poston for this amazing novel! I really enjoyed it! It’s nostalgic. I remembered how I started to become fan. Fanatics can definitely relate into this! I believe that once you learn about the fandom world, there’s no way out. You’ll always be a fan forever. 
Buy links: 
4 thoughts on “Geekerella Review”

Leave a Reply

