Book Reviews

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before Review

15749186.jpg

Title: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #1)

Author: Jenny Han

Format: Paperback

Published: April 14, 2014 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Reading Period: May 14-16, 2017

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis:

Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control in this heartfelt novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Summer I Turned Pretty series.

What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them…all at once?

Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.

Review:

A diverse book about love, family relationship and friendship.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before had been in my TBR pile for a long time. I just felt the need to read this one and thought maybe it’s time. I was curious with this because I’ve read good reviews about it and a plus factor is how diverse it is and the author, Ms. Jenny Han!

Lara Jean, wrote letters (love letters) to five different boys but those are for her eyes only and not meant to sent to the boys.

Josh was Margot’s (Lara Jean’s sister) ex-boyfriend. Lara Jean liked Josh a long time ago. And Margot’s leaving the country to study in Scotland made a way to Josh and Lara Jean as closer friends.

Peter and Lara Jean were friends. Peter was Lara Jean’s first real crush but also Genevieve’s ex-boyfriend.

I love Lara Jean and Pater’s banter. They are sooo cute and adorable! A note a day is really sweet and I wish to receive one too.

While reading my reaction were:

“OMG! Peter is Lara Jean’s first kiss? No way!!! Another OMG that they boys received the letters!!! If I’m Lara Jean I died for sure. I’ll feel embarrass and don’t know what to do. Maybe, probably, I won’t go to school.”

“Oh gosh! I can’t take the intensity of how Josh and Lara Jean fights! What the F?!? I almost roll and do somersault!!! OMG! OMG! Did I read it right? Josh kissed Lara Jean? For real?!?!”

“My heart is crying! I want Josh for Lara Jean but maybe I want Peter more. I can’t take it. I can’t. Why would they agreed so fast to fake break-up? OMG!!! That moment when Peter said he like Lara Jean that is kilig moment!”

In this book, I don’t know who to ship. Josh is sweet, kind and lovable. Peter is sweet, kind, playful and adorable. I think this is the first time that I’m confused who to root!

This book made me speechless. It’s a page-turner and very captivating! I almost didn’t go to sleep to finish this one because I cannot not read this. I’m happy how this book wrote. This is one of the few books that I got hooked and would love to dive in reading the next book! Maybe if I read this book way back before and second book hasn’t release, I might be rolling, trolling and tumbling all around because I couldn’t wait to read the next one!

To All the Boys I’ve Loved is a book you’d want to buy, place it in your bookshelf and look at it indefinitely.

The expectation versus reality. The written description of how supposed to feel with your first versus what’s really happened. Haha. Lesson learned: do not expect some things in reality from fantasy.

Is this book highly recommended? HELL YES!!!

“It feels strange to have spent so much time wishing for something, for someone, and then one day, suddenly, to just stop.”

 

Buy Links: Amazon  Simon and Schuster

1 thought on “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before Review”

Leave a Reply

