Book Reviews

Trapped in Wonderland Review

32977950.jpg

Title: Trapped in Wonderland (Wonderland Chronicles #1)

Author: Dani Hoots

Format: Digital ARC

Published: February 1, 2017

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling

Reading Period: May 15-31, 2017

Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Synopsis:

Meredith Alice Hughes has found herself falling through a portal and into Wonderland. There, she finds some of her classmates, who are actually fictional characters from Lewis Carroll’s “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland”, and they use a potion to make her forget everything. Everything would have been fine, that is, until the White Rabbit tries to murder her and she finds herself in Wonderland once more. Apparently, according to a prophecy, Alice is the only one who can save Wonderland from the Cirque de Rêves, a group that is trying to destroy and takeover the world. Little does Alice know that not only is Wonderland in danger, but her home world as well, because all the citizens in Wonderland represent the dreams of every living human in the real world, and when they start to disappear, so does the hope of every living thing. Will Alice believe in herself enough to defeat the Cirque de Rêves? Or will she fall victim to the dark thoughts that reside in her heart?

Review:

This book has been in my NetGalley for a long time so I give it a try. Thank you NetGalley for a digital free copy in ex-change of honest review.

This book caught me because of an interesting synopsis and a retelling of Alice in Wonderland. It really does excites me to begin reading this but I’m disappointed. I think the plot is good and how it’s written can improve because I believe there’s a lot of potential in this.

After reading the first page of this book it made me double-check the name of the author and the title to make sure that I’m reading it for real. I don’t like how it’s written. It made me think that who wrote this maybe targeting a middle grade audience not teen/young adult which contradictory to the genre indicated in the description.

Moreover, I give this book a second chance after I lose my interest. However, I’m already 50% on this book, still, it is in slow-paced. Also, I start to hate the characters as they are acting immaturely and I really can’t continue reading anymore.

This book is not for me and can’t see myself continuing.

2 thoughts on “Trapped in Wonderland Review”

  1. I’ve read Hoots before with a story about Hades’ daughter…she likes to start a series and then jump to another which can be frustrating too. I have since given up on her and her writing. I feel similar about Lizzy Ford: it’s like they have to write a bunch of diff books instead of continuing with what they started. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

