Book Reviews

PH Blog Tour: What To Say Next + Giveaway (PH)

30199656.jpg

 

Title: What To Say Next

Author: Julie Buxbaum

Format: Paperback

Published: July 11, 2107 by Delacorte Press

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Reading Period: July 7, 2017

Rating: ★★★★★

 

Synopsis:

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they? I don’t even understand.

DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her. 

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?

 

Review:

I had a chance to join PH Blog Tour for What To Say Next. I read a physical book in-exchange of honest review and I would like to thank Fay from Bibliophile Soprano and Penguin Random House International for the opportunity.

David Drucker has autism. He is always alone and he prefers it. He is a top student and usually over analyze things. He has a notebook where he write his observations and lists about his classmate to help him remember them. Popular Kit Lowell’s dad died and in grief. Instead of sitting in her usual table with her friends, she sat with David. Slowly, David and Kit develops close relationship.

I’m surprise to read DSM here and it is David’s obsession aside from science. I laugh out loud with David’s suggestion to include jock in DSM. I like how David’s family support him and takes care of him. They are very understanding and didn’t want to isolate David because of his condition. His parents enroll him into guitar lesson (hidden truth: social counseling) and asked to learn martial arts so he can defend his self if someone bullies him. What also got me hook in this book is how we get to know and understand David. He is logical, loves routine and interested with facts but definitely a sweet, innocent, cute guy (maybe not cute but his hot! Handsome with brain). I mean he knows what his condition is and he tried his best to understand it and his self. I’m also surprise how David’s survive the horrible incident related online and his bully classmates. I’m booing Principal Hoch because she’s being irrational and slaps David’s parents that David is not welcome in her school.

On the other hand, at first I couldn’t understand why Kit is having nightmares of his Dad’s accident. But when I found out, it really shock me. I mean, I can’t take it because it doesn’t seem real. But on the lighter note what happens to his Dad and through David’s help (Accident Project) it open Kit’s eyes of the reality. Another big shocker here is Kit’s mom affair. Like OMG!!! Seriously?! I can’t accept it but, yes, I read it right and that’s what happen.

Like what I’ve said the turn of events in this book are unpredictable and real shocker. I had a book hang over after reading this.

I honestly haven’t read any books of Julie Buxbaum and I must say that she caught me. I commend how she write this book. It give me glimpse of David’s world. I learn that it’s only a label and we not live with it. I’m looking forward to read her other books.

This book amuses me, strikes my heart, made me laugh and gives me different perspective in life.

 

Quotable quotes:

 

“Be your best and hope for the best.”

“Unimaginably bad shit happens. We are left to choose whether to grow or to wither. To forgive or to fester.”

 

Giveaway

1 thought on “PH Blog Tour: What To Say Next + Giveaway (PH)”

Leave a Reply

