Book Reviews

School Monitor Review

31437777.jpg

 

Title: School Monitor

Author: Alex Dunn

Format: Digital ARC

Published: August 8, 2016

Genre: Young Adult, Children’s Fiction, Thriller

Reading Period: July 10-14, 2017

Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Description (from NetGalley):

Richard refuses to believe his socially awkward twin Chrissie has an unhealthy obsession with him. He’s too busy making films and having fun with his best friends, but when the twins are sent to St. Bart’s boarding school, Richard finds himself trapped in a real life psychological horror when he’s framed for stealing, and on a mission to clear his name, discovers he’s not the only actor in his family.

 

Review:

I received a free digital copy from NetGalley in exchange of honest review.

This book caught my attention instantly because of interesting plot. However, I’m not that excited to read it after reading the first chapters.

Chrissie and Richard are twins. They are 14 year olds, in Year Ten and their Dad decided to transfer them to St. Bartolomew’s to befriend Doug Spencer’s son, Robert.

Richard or Rich loves to remake movies with his friends and uploaded it online. He easily makes friends. Everyone likes him. He has talent in film making and has a potential internship in BBC until something happened to him in St. Bart’s and every one turn against him.

Chrissie was a victim of bullying at Goldmeads (her old school). She doesn’t get along with anyone and acts weirdly. She’s obsessed with Rich’s attention.

What I instantly noticed in my copy is that there’s Chapter 1 and then jumped to Chapter 4. There are no Chapter 2 & 3.

The story is slow and couldn’t find the depth of the story. It is also confusing because of too many characters in it. It also made me think if I made a right choice to read this one because it is not exciting as I’ve read the synopsis plus I find the story cliché.

The story mainly focuses on student bullying. How parents are blinded with what is happening inside St. Bart’s. How teachers are closing their eyes with bullying because they are bribe by powerful families.

This book has potential and I think with few revisions this will be good. What keeps me to continue reading this is I want to prove my hunch of who set-up Rich. And it is proven.

“I don’t know what’s happened, but I feel dead inside, like my will to live, my courage, any sense of dignity I had has been kicked out of me.”

Buy link: Amazon

 

Leave a Reply

