Book Reviews

One of Us Is Lying Review

 

32571395.jpg

 

Title: One of Us Is Lying

Author: Karen M. McManus

Format: Kindle Edition

Published: May 30, 2017  by Delacorte Press

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller, Contemporary, Romance, Fiction, LGBTQIA+

Reading Period: July 28, 2017

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis:

One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.

On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.

Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.

Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.

Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.

Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.

And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

 

Review:

One of Us Is Lying is one of my anticipated books this 2017. Though I didn’t plan to read it immediately, I don’t feel like reading any books in my NetGalley so I decided to read One of Us Is Lying hoping to get rid this laziness and slump that I’m feeling. I’ve seen good reviews about it and it is honestly one of my most anticipated books.

The story starts when Bronwyn, Nate, Cooper, Addy and Simon got in detention.

Bronwyn is a Mathlete who likes Evan. She is acquainted with Simon. She’s dubbed as the “nerd”. Nate is “always” in detention. He and Bronwyn were schoolmates since kindergarten and tagged as “criminal”. Cooper is popular because of his talent in baseball. He is named as a “jock”. Addy is also popular and in same group with Cooper. She’s in a long term relationship with Jake and called as a “princess”. Simon is known for his gossip app. He tagged his self as a “narrator”. While five of them were in detention, he drank a cup of water and unexpectedly activated his allergy. And died.

One of Us Is Lying messed up my mind. Every page that I turn is unexpected. I couldn’t foresee what’s coming in this book. From the moment that they got into detention and the possibility that someone plotted it up to the end, it really messed me.

Like the characters in the story I have to think and make my own theory to solve Simon’s case. So here are my three theories while reading: 1) Simon is not dead and he plots his dead. 2) Simon is dead but he plans all of this, but how? 3) One of the four plans all of this, but who?

The turn of events really surprise me especially all those secrets. But the end shocks me most though one of my theories is correct.

What I like in this book is that each character is very unique. I was not confused of who is who while reading because I get the feelings of each character. Another is the possible romance between Nate and Bronwyn. I thought their cute. I mean the “first time” (after so many years) they talk; I already ship for their relationship. In addition, I like the unexpected friendship between the characters. Also, the twist! Again, I did not expect almost all the twist in this book. Plus, I can’t take it. I can’t take those secrets. It really surprises me. I’m taken aback. And I like how I’m also solving the mystery behind Simon’s death. The hidden meaning of this book also get me. I mean, Simon wouldn’t possibly do such plot if he is not suffering from depression. I won’t talk about further about it because it is a very sensitive topic.

One of Us Is Lying is highly recommendable. It’s well-written, entertaining, page-turner and highly addictive.

P. S. As a Filipino, I’m always delighted to read books that mention Filipinos (though this is a very minor part in the book).

 

Quotable quotes:

“Work hard, do your best, and the rest will follow”

“Some people are too toxic to live. They just are.”

“Things’ll get worse before they get better,”

“But I’m starting to realize there are some things you can’t undo, no matter how good your intentions are.”

“I don’t understand you kids. So obsessed with your screens and your gossip.”

 

Buy links: Amazon  Kobo  PRH  Target  Book Depository

2 thoughts on “One of Us Is Lying Review”

Leave a Reply

