Book Reviews

Atheists Who Kneel and Pray Review

Today is different from my usual blog post because I’m featuring one of my reading buddies. Her name is Paula and she’s actually one of my students. I ask her to voice out her thoughts through this blog because she always tell me her review but never posted it which I think she should. Anyway, check our reviews below. I hope both our reviews help you or made you decided to read Atheists Who Kneel and Pray.

P.S. Paula suggested to listen to Perfect by Ed Sheeran and both of us think that that’s OUR David singing that song to Yara.

 

35186206.jpg

 

Title: Atheists Who Kneel and Pray

Author: Tarryn Fisher

Format: Kindle Edition

Published: July 13, 2017

Genre: Romance, Contemporary, New Adult

Reading Period: July 18, 2017

Rating: ★★★★★

 

Synopsis:

Yara Phillips is a wandering muse.

She dates men who need her, but always moves on to something new, never staying in one place for very long.

David Lisey is in need of a muse.

A talented musician lacking lyrical inspiration. When he first sees her, he knows he’s found what he’s been looking for.

Yara believes she can give David exactly what he needs to reach his full potential:
A broken heart.

David’s religion is love.

Yara’s religion is heartache.

Neither is willing to surrender, but religion always requires sacrifice.

 

My Review:

I admit that this book is not one of my anticipated books for this year. One of my friends is reading it and she keeps on telling me that it is so good that I should read it ASAP. So, I decided to read Atheists Who Kneel and Pray despite the fact that it is not part of my list up for review. Another reason I read this on top of my list is because I’m curious with the title. Who wouldn’t? That title is very catchy. So, I’m dying to know what happen in this book.

I received this book as a giveaway prize from Maria Bardales. She’s so kind and awesome for hosting a giveaway!

Yara, an English and does whatever she wants. She doesn’t stick to one place especially when she felt the need to leave. David is a musician, a band vocalist and decided that Yara is his perfect muse.

I fell in love with Yara’s personality because she’s carefree, unique, and strong, and doesn’t give a damn. I like how she and David banter with metaphor. However, I’m starting to dislike her when she decided to left David. I know and understand how she felt at that time but I couldn’t accept what she did to David.

I’m seriously shock with David’s feeling towards Yara. He’s very straightforward, sweet, caring, lovable and his undying love for Yara. Yes, David is a book boyfriend! He’s OUR David. What surprised me was when David proposed to Yara on their second meeting. Isn’t that insane? On the latter part of this book, David sounds sincere but I don’t know if I have to believe it because he entertains Petra’s feeling. He made me hate him for that. But yes, Yara left him; he has needs and doesn’t even know if Yara will come back or not. While reading, I had to remind myself that what I’m reading is the reality not the ideal. Like what I’ve said, I’m in doubt of David’s sincerity of affection towards Yara. But after reading his POV, damn! He’s deeply in love and hurt.

Petra bothered me. I know from the start that she’s no good for Yara and David. However, I saw how she’s really into David. How she love and care for David and I understand her.

I understand that Yara’s broken. She didn’t receive any love from her mother. Her mother shows her in an early age that she dislikes her. However, her mother regrets all of what she did to Yara. She reaches to Yara but it’s too late. AND that is what made me cry.

What surprised me more is how pink represent this book and its connection to Tarryn’s life. This book is such an inspiration. It gives me new perspective in life.

On the other hand, this is the first book that I had to edit so many times because I had to elicit curse words because if I’m going to post my original text here it’s full of curse words. I couldn’t help but curse while reading this book.

I have so many emotions towards this book. But that bad reunion broke my heart!!!! Aside from giving me book hang over, it stab and broke my heart in all sides so much.

Atheists Who Kneel and Pray makes me think things like: “What if I did what Yara did?” “I want to go to other places like what Yara did and if things/places suffocate me I’ll leave.”

The book is good, well-written, page turner and highly commendable. Tarryn messed my feelings again. Atheists Who Kneel and Pray gives me book hangover that I don’t think I can move on with it for a very long time.

My quotable quotes:

“People came to cities to thrive. They hooked themselves up to the blood flow and tried to live their best lives. Sometimes it worked out and sometimes it didn’t.”

“Beauty was deceiving in the same way credit cards were. It felt like it was free, but there was high interest with little return.”

“If a man introduces his male friend to his extraordinary new girlfriend, his friend will think—I want a girl like that. If a woman introduces her new boyfriend to her female friend, the friend will not think—I want a man like that, but rather, I want that very man.”

“I don’t think there’s anyone right or wrong. We have to let people be who they are.”

“I’m asking them to come up a level actually. To show love instead of judgment. Because if they’re right about their belief system, there is an ultimate judge anyway, isn’t there? We don’t need human judges.”

“…that love was a leap of faith, and that love was just a word until someone gave it a definition.”

 

Paula’s Review:

When I started reading Atheist Who Kneel and Pray, I honestly don’t know what to expect. The title itself is hard to figure out, unless you get to the middle part of the book.
I am madly in love with this story. Tarryn Fisher has a way with words. It’s like she paints pictures in every word that she uses.

David is a lead vocalist of a band and Yara is a runner. David is in need of a muse and for me, Yara was the perfect person to do the job.

I’m surprise when David talked about the future with Yara considering they only just met. It was a bit fast paced in my opinion, but the emotions that you will feel while reading this novel is like you have a special connection with the characters. It felt like I was friends with them and I have seen everything that they went through.

I have a love-hate relationship with Yara and David (Hate-hate-hate and a bit of love for Petra). I love Yara because she does whatever she wants. She traveled the world alone and started a life in a place where she doesn’t know anyone. She is brave yet she is a coward. I hate Yara for being a coward, though i cannot blame her. I blame her mother for that. She runs a way from all of her problems. She ran away from David. That broke my heart.  I love David for being David. He’s sweet, caring and understanding (book boyfriend material). He loves Yara for everything that she is and everything that she is not. I hate him for not telling Yara about Petra. I hate Petra because she is Petra and I love her for being with David when Yara left him.

The ending was the best part. I never anticipated the twist in the ending. While reading, I always thought that Yara and David will just end it as it is and move on with their life. And I never thought that Yara’s mom would do what she did. I felt mixed emotions towards the ending. And i will definitely would read this again and again.

Overall, Atheist Who Kneel and Pray is a novel that will make you change your perspective on love it will teach you a lesson that you will surely need in life and lastly, this story is something that i would recommend to people to read and enjoy because it is WORTHY OF YOUR TIME.

“I’m back. Find me.”

 

Buy links: Shop signed copy at Tarryn Fisher site   Amazon

1 thought on “Atheists Who Kneel and Pray Review”

  1. Feel free to explore tthe concept oof Minecraft
    and let your imagination run free, create
    our own world, explore yoir surroundings and protect your character from unexpected problems time
    to time. I had mined in thhe wrong direction and opened upp water
    into my underground cavern, oh dear. Consistency of material is liikewise helpful once you
    want for the removal process.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

