Book Reviews

Wesley Life Ruined My Life Review

31145064.jpg

 

Title: Wesley James Ruined My Life

Author: Jennifer Honeybourn

Format: Kindle Edition

Published: July 18, 2017  by Swoon Reads

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Reading Period: July 31, 2017

Rating: ★★★☆☆

Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Quinn Hardwick’s having a rough summer. Her beloved grandmother has been put into a home, her dad’s gambling addiction has flared back up and now her worst enemy is back in town: Wesley James, former childhood friend—until he ruined her life, that is.

So when Wesley is hired to work with her at Tudor Tymes, a medieval England themed restaurant, the last thing Quinn’s going to do is forgive and forget. She’s determined to remove him from her life and even the score all at once—by getting him fired.

But getting rid of Wesley isn’t as easy as she’d hoped. When Quinn finds herself falling for him, she has to decide what she wants more: to get even, or to just get over it.

 

Review:

Wesley James Ruined My Life is I guess well-promoted because of the eagerness I feel towards this book. Plus, aren’t you curious of who Wesley James is after reading the title? It is my first time a Swoon Reads book and I’m quiet disappointed.

Quinn, works at a local dinner theater as a waiter and sometimes as actress. She is part of a band where she plays clarinet. Her biggest dream is going to England as influence of her English grandmother. Wesley James “ruined” Quinn’s life. He moved home and came back. He works at Tudor Tymes with Quinn. He also joined a band where he plays tuba.

I find Quinn narrow-minded and irrational. I don’t understand and can’t accept Quinn’s rationale of Wesley James’s ruining her life. Her reason is totally out and she just associates all the bad things that happen to her and family to Wesley James. It’s her defense mechanism because she can’t accept the fact that she’s rejected by Wesley James when they were about to kiss when they were kids. I don’t like her for dodging Wesley James too much because in fact she cares and like him. But, Quinn gain one point for caring her father and openly accepts him though he disappoint her.

This book disappoints me because of too much cliché on how Quinn and Wesley James accidentally or interact with each other. It’s in good pace and how it’s written is okay. However, my only issue are the important scenes because of the cliché-ness of the story and annoying character (Quinn). Quinn said “Wesley James turns up when I least expect him” but I say “Wesley James turns up when I most expect him.”

On the other hand, imagine if there’s a real restaurant like Tudor Tymes? Isn’t an amazing idea? That restaurant surely a bomb! I also like the bookstore-in-a-café because it gives me business ideas.

While reading. I mostly question myself of where did I get the eagerness or motivation to read this book? It’s light and there’s a potential in the history but then again, most scenes are cliché.

Quotable quotes:

“I should insist that he get help, that he learn from this mistake so it doesn’t happen again. But that’s all been said before, many times, by many different people. Whatever I have to say won’t make a bit of difference.”

“Less touristy places, the kind of inside scoop you can really only get from a local. The type of places I’d want someone to tell me about if I was visiting the city for the first time.”

“…but that’s the thing I’m learning about forgiveness; it’s not something you just do for the other person, it’s something you do for yourself.”

 

Buy linksAmazon Barnes and Noble Booktopia Kobo

 

Leave a Reply

